Life is better than death. Love; greater than either…


Lust
18 September, 2006, 10:57 pm
Filed under: Lust, Thoughts

I’ve heard some moons ago that lust always has a negative aura surrounding it.

In the same breath, lust was established as positive too.

Dictionary.com (besides defining lust as a sexual emotion) defines lust as:

3.a passionate or overmastering desire or craving
7.to have a yearning or desire; have a strong or excessive craving

Lust is actually self-fulfilling. Lust (along with other similar emotions: e.g. anger, compassion, grief) does not come about by itself; in my humble opinion. Objects you see cause you to lust. Some circumstance or someone causes you to be angry; and to be compassionate and to grief. These emotions are sort of external, if you get my drift.

But internal emotions, such as love and joy and faith are emotions which we CAN, for the most part control and ‘evoke ourselves’. Well, of course things and people can cause you to love, to be joyful and to have faith but most of the time, we CHOOSE to love, CHOOSE to be joyful and CHOOSE to be faithful. We are active participants in evoking the emotion; hence me terming it ‘internal’ emotions. Of course we also can CHOOSE to lust, be angry and grief but the degree of control is just so different.

OK, back to lust. Since we do not have (the majority of) control over that particular emotion being evoked, well, the only thing we can control is the object that has potential to evoke lust. The easiest example is the opposite sex. When we see a sexy and attractive member of the opposite sex, we cannot help but to have lust for him/her. (Well, maybe some claim that they can, but I doubt it). What we can control then are our heads and eyes not to ‘take a second look’ right?

Awesome. Now for lust in a different context. The “to have a yearning or desire; have a strong or excessive craving” context.

If we choose to put something in front of us for extended periods of time, we will naturally and automatically lust for that item. For example, when I was ‘thinking’ about getting a subwoofer for my car, I looked everywhere for a good price. That eventually, fed my lust. Every shopping center I went, I went straight to the nearest car shop available (looking at options available, feeding my lust). When I got home, I tried to get good deals on eBay (feeding my lust). I asked friends about what the best brand/how to install it (feeding my lust). I chose songs that had heavy bass beats in it to play in my car; anticipating the day I will get the subwoofer (you guessed it! Feeding my lust). I filled my entire sphere or life with thoughts of the subwoofer. Until the day I got it… 😛

Do you get me? I don’t know, things might have been different if I didn’t check for prices in the shops/eBay/friends. If I talked about different things and listened to different songs; I might just not have gotten that subwoofer installed.

Are you getting me? I’m just worried that we are actually feeding our lusts (ourselves) each and everyday of our lives. If we develop such tunnel vision that all we see and talk and hear is about this thing/person; of course our lust for that thing/person increases.

Try talking, hearing and seeing other things for a try. Things we deem important when we are in the tunnel vision state may just be not that important after all.

Which brings me to lusting after good things. Things like reaching out to people, God, love and good things.

Philippians 4:8 – Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy – meditate on these things.

Meditate on these things… Put these things in front of your eyes… And with that, lust after these things, good things, eternal things… come automatically and naturally…

What things are in front of our eyes?

God bless!
(P.S. looked up 1 John 2:16 and the it says “the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes and the pride of life”… in that order! Isn’t it so true? Flesh (inner thoughts) first, then eyes (lusting) then comes the pride of life… The material satisfaction of having something… the satisfaction that is derived from something that passes away ;))

5 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Lust in one of “the deadly sins” during the medieval period. I think lust is more negative than positive, even back then.

Comment by lightcontrast

Hey thanks!

What I’m establishing here is that we can lust for good things.

God bless!

Comment by K.Lo

Interesting thought. Do you know of any texts that suggest positive connotations or denotations about lust?

Comment by lightcontrast

lol
it’s just a different way of defining and thinking about lust. You’ve gotta read the whole article I put up there, don’t just pick and choose :). It clearly takes lust out of its sexual context and defines it as lust, as a craving type of lust.

And that lust comes about through your seeing. So if you continually ‘see’ the good things; you’ll automatically lust for good things.

I can get the texts/books if you want but I don’t think its published yet. It’s just a different way of looking at things.

Open our minds a little you know 🙂

Comment by K.Lo

Ok, I read the whole thing. I found it interesting that you brought up the time you were looking for a subwoofer. I get the part where the more you search, the more you lust after it. But what about after you get it? Why, if we want something so much, that when we finally get it, it doesn’t seem so attractive? Could one argue that lust isn’t such a bad thing because when you get what you lusted after, the thing loses its appeal?

Comment by lightcontrast




Leave a Reply

