Life is better than death. Love; greater than either…


What’s in my plastic bag?
6 May, 2008, 12:31 pm
Filed under: RanDom, Sydney

*the following post is inspired by a silver-haired hero*

The reflection on the mirror shows someone rummaging through a typical semi-transparent light green plastic bag. My huge glasses shift on my nose a little as gravity extends a helping hand as I peer into my plastic bag. A rustling sounds ensue but there’s nothing in my bag besides a roll of string I bought at the supermarket.

Friendly people those cashiers. Maybe its because of my hunched back; or maybe its my stringy oily hair. It could be these glasses you know. Oh, I should get them checked… It’s been what? 3 years now since I’ve visited Dr. Van Daal and got my eyes checked. Which reminds me, I need to get my teeth filled again… Gah, I’ll just resort to pulling them out. I only eat porridge nowadays anyway.

Ah… Let me just hobble over to the next street. It’s pretty cold tonight. Makes me feel lonely. Ah, I wonder where Peter is. It’s been 8 years since the last Christmas. I wasn’t as hunched then, well, not since Stella died. Oh, Stella, how I miss you so… If only I could talk to you now, about Peter, about my loneliness.

You would be the sensible one and ask me to check myself into a facility. But what’s the use? They’re all on their way out anyway. I don’t want to live in the past. At least if I live alone, it keeps my mind going you know. All these challenges… Half-blind, half-deaf… It is pretty exciting living like this. And the occasional stranger just breaks down in front of you; its fun to watch. But I think they’re just afraid they’ll turn out the same way. But I am OK. Really, I am OK…

God bless!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

