Life is better than death. Love; greater than either…


Proverbs 3:9-10
5 February, 2009, 5:26 pm
Filed under: Amazed, God, Thoughts

So I was reading through my devotional material (Destined To Reign) yesterday (it’s my best way of focusing myself on God and with that opening my heart to his DIRECT voice and teaching) and came across Proverbs 3:9-10…

Honor the LORD with your wealth, with the firstfruits of all your crops; then your barns will be filled to overflowing, and your vats will brim over with new wine…

I admit that I’ve been slacking off in this area of my life for some months now and getting back on the financial saddle of Christianity is an immediately rewarding one. Coming off of the devotion yesterday was this hagah business; of how you should SPEAK the promises of God not just believe it.

Then continuing on today, in Mark 11:23 Jesus says this…

“I tell you the truth, if anyone says to this mountain, ‘Go, throw yourself into the sea,’ and does not doubt in his heart but believes that what he says will happen, it will be done for him. Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours…”

So, apparently, there are 3 “says” and one “believe” in this verse. (The last “say” is “whatever you ask for in prayer”).

I don’t know about you but most of the time I don’t proclaim/declare the verses in the Bible. I know it in my head and I read it and I quote it sometimes in conversations but I don’t declare it to myself. It’s too Anthony Robbins I tell myself, its just purely positive thinking if I proclaim it… If I do it, God will not honour me because it’s my own work and not God’s…

But the thing is the principle works. God cannot go against His principles even when man uses them without Him. Anthony Robbins, positive thinkers, motivational speakers all use the principle of speaking success and wealth to your self. Of course in the short term it works but when people go deeper and ‘attain’ what they seek for, they find that there is no reason beyond it. There’s no meaning… And sometimes they get so obsessed they lose sight of what has to be important to them… Using a God-principle without God is like setting up an Ikea shelf without the manual; and end up using it as a table. It works well as a table but it was designed to work as a shelf… It may work fine but sooner or later, flaws will appear. That and it will never realize its full potential as a shelf!

But enough of analogies…
So before I left home today, I hagah-ed Proverbs 3:9-10 on Facebook and to myself…

After passing my driving Knowledge test (I last ‘studied’ for it in September), I was off  to lunch with Bryan then proceeded to shop for some lights today at Bunnings cause there were ads on TV promoting 10 dollar work lights! Fresh-eyed and curious, it felt like a big Wal-Mart kinda place, places that only existed on TV and we spent an hour and a little bit more exploring the place (All 30 aisles – Electrical, Spotlights, Downlights, Paint, BBQ sets, Hoses, Taps, Carpets, etc). So tossing between expensive flouroscents and other lights, I decided on a 28 dollar worklight set; tripod and 2x500W lights and everything. Good deal! The cashier rang my transaction up and it was a tad over what I budgeted. So I, as a right-conscious consumer, pointed to the rather large sign that said $28.89. After a price check and discussions with her supervisor and what nots, she took down the price and shaved a cool $10 off what was supposed to be a $38 dollar light!

I left the place knowing that I’ve saved $10 without any sales discounts or anything and it was purely because I was at the right place at the right time…

I don’t know about you but I’m pretty sure my hagah-ing in the morning had something to do with it… Praise God!

Le’ts have another hagah moment right NOW…
2 Corinthians 8:9 For you know the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, that though he was rich, yet for your sakes he became poor, so that you through his poverty might become rich…

God bless!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

I’ve been thinking about that first as well and the tithing verse alot too

I totally agree in proclaiming god word hahaha you said it mention 3 times in the bible. It must be worth something =D

Comment by JC

yup!!!

my thoughts exactly! 😀

Comment by K.Lo




Leave a Reply

