Life is better than death. Love; greater than either…


Saturday Morning Gazings
5 June, 2010, 12:46 pm
Filed under: People, Saturday

Went downstairs to get some breakfast today – not the usual Saturday morning bacon & eggs though – inspired by Clipper Cafe’s (Glebe Point Road) amazing (and not to mention uber healthy) avocado spread, I went and got myself some avocado and ham; avoiding all fatty products altogether.

I went down to the last aisle of the minimart and saw an elderly lady about 5 feet tall staring at the cold storage section. The section where they sell butter, milk and bacon. She had a basket in her hands and she was wearing an old lady’s cardigan with a longish straight skirt. She had socks on complete with black shoes for walking. She could hobble but mobility, I could tell, was not her forte.

I turned right after I saw her and picked up a fresh avocado. Wanted to pick up some cold ham so I stood next to her looking for stuff. She must have felt uncomfortable cause she moved a little when I approached. I didn’t know what to do. I wanted to say hello but only managed a smile. And its one of those indirect smiles too. Hmmm… I should’ve said hello but what would I have said?

Arggh… Old people are my weakness I tell you. If you put an old person in front of me and asked me to donate a million thousand dollars, I would probably do it. Its an automatic thing I guess, they seem so helpless. I think I’ve mentioned it in this blog before but that’s the fact and frailty of human life isn’t it? You have your strongest years in your youth and slowly deteriorate into being a weak, slow and helpless human.

In a western country like Australia, you often see old people being neglected and left to fend themselves. It’s a very saddening fact and often I think of ways to combat this on a bigger level. Not sure what kinda support I would get but it is a fact that even if a ministry or organization is set up for our senior citizens, it wouldn’t be a business of high return. And then of course there would be surmounting medical bills etc but old people do not want to be sick! Who does right???

Aging. Getting old.

It’s a natural thing. Terrible, debilitating and sometimes even humiliating. But again everyone goes through it.

I guess that’s my only comfort. That everyone will get old. Everyone will experience forgetting stuff as memories slip away. Every single human will try their very best to get the perfect hair dye to hide the greys. That you and I will need crutches one day; will need people to help us on and off buses and help us learn to use this thing called the Internet. And how to use ATMs…

And people will forget what you and I used to do. Forget that we used to drive manual cars. Forget how the Japs invaded Malaya. Forget that we used petrol for fuel. Forget that Richard Nixon was president. Forget that we saw the first African American become president. Forget when bicycles were used instead of cars. Forget that we were there when 9/11 happened. Forget that to get clothes; it had to be tailored. Forget that we were there when Sadam Hussein was executed.

That’s the only comfort I have. That my turn will come. So I don’t have to feel that bad for senior citizens I guess.

Ah… So sad. I nearly burst into tears thinking of the old lady and what potentially could be her day-to-day life at the minimart today. Thank God she didn’t select only the Home Brand products. This old lady had class and obviously wasn’t on a mere below the poverty line government pension. That’s my other comfort today – even though she was alone, found it hard to walk and does her shopping on a Saturday morning; she was trudging along just fine. Despite her soft voice and her trembling hands; she was fine.

She even had time to dye her hair brown – greys hairs absorb the colour better I heard her say in the silence.

God bless!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

